Thursday, July 8

Outline of Maha-Satipatthana Sutta

The Four Foundations of Mindfulness (taken from Digha Nikaya 22)

I. Body
II. Sense Impressions
III. Mind States
IV. Dhamma

Each individual contemplation is followed by the stock "insight" description: that it is to be done internally, externally, both internally and externally, in its arising factors, in its vanishing factors, in both its arising and vanishing factors, or the mindfulness, "There is xxxxx" is maintained to the extent necessary for knowledge and remembrance. "And he remains independent, unsustained by (not clinging to) anything in the world."

I. Body (Kaya)
1. Breathing
2. Bodily postures (walking, standing, sitting, lying down)
3. Fully alert in all activities (going forward & returning, he makes himself fully alert; when looking toward & looking away... when bending & extending his limbs... when carrying his outer cloak, his upper robe & his bowl... when eating, drinking, chewing, & savoring... when urinating & defecating... when walking, standing, sitting, falling asleep, waking up, talking, & remaining silent, he makes himself fully alert. )
4. 32 (actually 31) parts of the body (simile: a bag, open at both ends, filled with various kinds of grain). Head hairs, body hairs, nails, teeth, skin, flesh, tendons, bones, bone marrow, kidneys, heart, liver, pleura, spleen, lungs, large intestines, small intestines, gorge, feces, bile, phlegm, pus, blood, sweat, fat, tears, skin-oil, saliva, mucus, fluid in the joints, urine. The commentaries add, after feces, brains.
5. The four elements (simile: a butcher cutting up a cow). Earth, water, fire, wind.
6. Corpse (this body too, such is its nature, such is its future, such its unavoidable fate) (9 different states)

II. Sense Impressions (Vedana, often misleadingly translated as feelings)
1. Pleasant, painful, neutral (listed in sutta as painful, pleasant, neither-painful-nor-pleasant)
2. Of the flesh and not of the flesh

III. Mind States (Citta) (8 paired categories)
1. With and without passion, with and without aversion, with and without delusion.
2. Restricted or scattered. Enlarged or not enlarged. Surpassed or unsurpassed. Concentrated or not concentrated. Released or not released.

IV. Mental Objects or Teachings (Dhamma) [5,5,6,7,4(8)]
1. Five hindrances (know not just if they are present or absent, but discern how they arise, how they are abandoned, and how they don't reappear in the future when they've been abandoned)
a. Sensual desire
b. Ill Will
c. Sloth and torpor
d. Restlessness and anxiety
e. Uncertainty
2. Five clinging aggrregates (such is the aggregate, such its origination, such its disappearance)
a. Form
b. Feeling
c. Perception
d. Volitional formations (fabrications)
e. Consciousness
3. Sixfold internal and external sense media
a. he discerns the eye, he discerns forms, he discerns the fetter that arises dependent on both. He discerns how there is the arising of an unarisen fetter. And he discerns how there is the abandoning of a fetter once it has arisen. And he discerns how there is no further appearance in the future of a fetter that has been abandoned.
b. ear and sounds, etc
c. nose and smells, etc.
d. tongue and tastes, etc.
e. body and tactile sensations, etc.
f. intellect and thoughts, etc.
4. Seven factors of awakening (present or not present)
a. mindfulness
b. analysis of qualities (investigation)
c. persistence
d. rapture
e. serenity
f. concentration
g. equanimity
5. Four noble truths (he discerns as it actually is present:)
a. This is dukkha
b. This is the origination of dukkha
c. This is the cessation of dukkha
d. This is the way leading to the cessation of dukkha -- Noble Eightfold Path
i. Right View
ii. Right Intention
iii. Right Speech
iv. Right Action
v. Right Livelihood
vi. Right Effort
vii. Right Mindfulness
viii. Right Concentration

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?